Music News Specials

Ukrainian oriental metal band IGNEA releases new video and announces a new album

IGNEA has presented an official video for Disenchantment from their upcoming album The Realms of Fire and Death, out on April 17, 2020. 

In the video, we see a person who finds a defective hard drive containing a damaged file of a film telling the story on behalf of Gods of Fire towards mankind. Not only people used the sacred flame to kill each other but, eventually, they also started substituting fire with electricity — artificial, soulless light. The gods were “disenchanted” in the earthlings and left them, claiming that “when artificial light is off when you are burnt by the watts you loved, you will return to inception but we’ll be far away.” 

The Realms of Fire and Death is a concept album with strong story-telling, metaphors, symbols, and is accompanied by a book of short tales incorporating the lyrics of each song. It is divided into three major parts, each consisting of 3 songs. Songs of each part are outlining a certain separate story, bringing the themes of fire and death from various perspectives. 

“IGNEA means “flaming” in the feminine. Making an album related to fire was only a matter of time and proper inspiration,” says Helle, the vocalist of IGNEA. “Reading the tales accompanying the album will totally change your perspective and perception of our music. With the new album, we want to tell people various stories that are imaginary but can evoke associations. We are balancing between the fairy-tale and brutality as if these were two parts of one thing.” 

Musically, The Realms of Fire and Death is a modern-sounding metal having the dynamics of shifting from lighter to more brutal parts, and yet, preserving the melodic part. While earlier the band was working in a symphonic direction, the melodic part in the new album is executed through using various synths and electronic sounds.  For the first time, IGNEA created a song Чорне Полум’я (Chorne Polumia) in their mother tongue, Ukrainian. On the album, this song also comes in an English version as a bonus. Apart from the original tracks, the album also contains a cover for Í Tokuni by the Faroese singer-songwriter Eivør.

The Realms of Fire and Death is available for physical pre-order in the band’s official store. The digital pre-order on all streaming platforms will be available shortly.


  1. Queen Dies 
  2. Чорне Полум’я  (Chorne Polumia)
  3. Out of My Head
  4. Í Tokuni (Eivør Cover)
  5. Too Late to Be Born
  6. What For
  7. Gods of Fire
  8. Jinnslammer
  9. Disenchantment
  10. Black Flame (Bonus)






You Might Also Like

No Comments

    Leave a Reply